Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Video card question involving Eyefinity vs Surround

HorusraHorusra Member EpicPosts: 4,411

#1 Ok Radeon has scared me in the past due to drivers not the actually abilities of the card.  Are there still a lot of driver issues with game compatability with the new drivers?

#2 I am building a beast and my sticking point is between Crossfire 7970's looking at Eyefinity or paying $300 more for SLI 590's with Surround in mind.  For gaming is the $300 worth the support of Nvidia with drivers and compatability with games or is Eyefinity doing just fine.

#3 Also with the items above does the Crossfire and SLI remove the FPS, lag, and other graphical issues?  I am new to trying to setup a multi monitor display.

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,353

AMD drivers are about as good as Nvidia drivers.  It's been that way for a few years now.

If you're going for a rig with 3+ monitors, then you really should go with AMD.  AMD has had three generations of cards designed with 3+ monitors in mind.  Nvidia has had zero so far, and Nvidia Surround is really just an attempt at hacking things together through drivers that the silicon isn't meant to handle.

Even if you insist on going Nvidia, don't get a GeForce GTX 590.  Those are bad cards.  They're two GPUs on a single card (so a single GTX 590 is SLI already), and it's simply too much heat in too small of a space to be safe--which is why several of the cards didn't even survive the review process.  At that high of power consumption, AMD's PowerTune is a must-have feature--and AMD has it and Nvidia doesn't.

Also, the difference between 3 GB per GPU and 1.5 GB per GPU doesn't matter to most people, but if you're using three monitors, then it should matter to you.  Nvidia does have some 3 GB version of a GeForce GTX 580, but those are both more expensive than a 7970 and also a lot slower.