Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Greg Z of BioWare kinda confirms TOR is essentially a 'WoW clone'

DeaconXDeaconX Member UncommonPosts: 3,062

I was reading this article and when I got to the quote by Greg Z of BioWare, I was kinda sad.  It's basically admitting they went at SWTOR as a WoW clone, as what he seems to understand is WoW is how all MMO's should be...

Article: http://kotaku.com/5884948/stop-copying-world-of-warcraft-start-making-a-better-mmo

Quote:

"It [World of Warcraft] is a touchstone. It has established standards, it's established how you play an MMO. Every MMO that comes out, I play and look at it. And if they break any of the WoW rules, in my book that's pretty dumb."

I've met the man briefly.  He's a genuinely sweet man.  But I must respectfully disagree.... then again, I'm just a lowly writer and he's ballin' in the game's industry like there's no tomorrow so...

Still, I look forward to GW2/TSW where the developers looked at WoW and decided "nah, that's not our bible or blueprint."

Why do I write, create, fantasize, dream and daydream about other worlds? Because I hate what humanity does with this one.

BOYCOTTING EA / ORIGIN going forward.

Comments

• BunksBunks Member Posts: 960

this was pretty old news no? I remember reading that quote month's ago.

• marinridermarinrider Member UncommonPosts: 1,556

I think thats a pretty terrible way to go at game design.  Just because its the most popular way doesnt mean its the best way.

• ProfRedProfRed Member UncommonPosts: 3,494

I wonder if he even once considered that 95% of his target playerbase would be WoW or ex-WoW players, and that they might just be a little tired of the formula and want something new or different than what they had been playing for the last 6-7 years.

I wonder if he even took note of every other MMO that did the exact same thing and failed...

• ZarynterkZarynterk Member UncommonPosts: 398