Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Game engine.

EmperorBeldEmperorBeld Michigan City, INPosts: 101Member

I am looking for a game engine.  That can be use for single rpg, and MMOrpg.  That is low in cost, or free.  I have been looking around, but would like some suggestions.  Any suggestion?  I have some progamming experience, but not an issue.  

Comments

• Loke666Loke666 MalmöPosts: 19,169Member Rare

Why not use the same as Torchlight, the OGRE open source 3D graphics engine. 

It is free and is supposed to be easy to use. It might not be Cryoengine 2 but free is good and you have a good example of what you can make of it there.

• dronfwardronfwar Shitty, DEPosts: 316Member

There are so many. A quick google would help you out.

Then you have to compare the features with your needs.

I suggest

Unity3D ($1.500) MMO: Battlestar Galatica Online

UDK (30% royalty fees / free for non commercial) Many AAA Games

Blender Game Engine (open source)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNaW0NQDDRo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7RRaEvWqJc

• KarahandrasKarahandras Sible HedinghamPosts: 1,691Member Uncommon

I would suggest you google and research a few yourself to find the best one for your needs(have been doing this myself out of curiosity).  As a there are quite a few now with variations of 'free'.

Irrlicht is meant to be easy to get into and free

The 100% free mmorpg planeshift uses another free engine called crystal space

If you want a java based one(usually for browser mmo's) you can try unity it has a free version and a payed for version(I think is quite cheap)

Cryengine3 has a free version is you aren't going to charge for your product

SWTOR uses the hero engine(mmorpg specific mostly) which has a freeish method.  If i remember correct if you use for an mmo and don't want a flat rate they'll take 30% and host on their servers.

These are just the ones I can remember atm:)