Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

"Things I wish I knew before I started playing SWTOR" [tips]

One guy made a thread about this and another guy compiled them somewhere else and we will improve and expand it here. Some interesting tid-bits for new players;

SWTOR Knowledge; (please reply with tips you'd like to see added).

Economy and Gear

Orange items can be kept untill level 50 and still be viable by keeping the mods up to date.

You dont need modifying station to mod your gear! Ctrl + rightclick a modable item to open its modding screen.

Modable gear including weapons can be worn indefinitely. You can just keep swapping out current level modifications and the stats will always be level appropriate for you.

Do not sell or destroy modable items. Keep them in your bank. You can do daily heroics to get an entire set, and at the end of the game you can look how you want to. [gaugemew]

It gets super-expensive to pull item enhancements out of your gear (upwards of 3k to pull out a lvl 30 purple item).

You can just over-write mods, but it destroys the current enhancement in the slot.

This is probably a repost but USE the Galactic Trade Market to sell all the random blue/purple items you find can make a nice cash out of it.

Selling things on the auction house is always nice, but if you dont sell your item, you get your deposit back !

If you cancel the item (because you accidentially put it up for 1499 instead of 499 (damn "1" bug thing)), you will lose the deposit

The higher your buyout price is, the higher the deposit also

The GTM will automatically suggest a buy-out price undercutting the already listed items.

Crafting and crew skills

When you craft superior quality items (at least, implants and earpieces) they will gain an augment item modification slot.