Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SWTOR: Meh... Could've Been A Lot Better

So.. let me start off my saying that I am a LONG-time MMO player from first battling Sand Giants in EQ1 with my Necromancer, to defying gravity with my Metaphysist in Anarchy Online, to EQ2, to Eve, to SWG, to WoW (hated), to SWTOR so you can say I have some experience. I am also a HUGE Star Wars fan..  Now... saything that here is my take on SWTOR.

Pros:

1. STAR WARS!! - nuff said..

2. Easy to pickup and learn - I was playing this game with my 8 yr old who picked it up in 10 min and took off.

3. BioWare Story-telling - nuff said

4. And.... - not sure what else

Cons:

1. Feels too much like WoW - I know that ill get flamed for this, but WoW is a TERRIBLE game for any true MMO player.  I played it for a month, quit, and never looked back. It was just too "cotton candy-ish " for me and unfortunately SWTOR is trying to following their lead.

2. Bad Animations - Even though it is in beta, a lot of the animations are still VERY buggy to be so late in the game near launch (but hopefully they will get fixed before)

3. Space Combat - Granted i havent made it this far but from the videos I am already disappointed

4. No real consequence for making evil choices - at least from what I can gather so far... still early

5. Gaming on RAILS!! - Not being able to journey over a mountain through trecherous uncharted swamps (you get the idea) is a HUGE negative in my book. I remember back in EQ when the journey was a huge part of the experience you had.  Not knowing what was around each corner, etc.  I would compare SWTOR to running through a maze, yes there are different paths, dead ends, etc but only one way out (story quests and paths leading to them).

6. Space Combat.. - had to say it again...

7. Skill Trees - Skill Tree seems mostly irrelevent until you get the 1 or 2 new special attacks in each tree