Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

PvP at gamescom

grimm6thgrimm6th Member Posts: 973

http://www.arena.net/blog/get-ready-for-gamescom

As the link states, PvP will be available at Gamescom.  I assume that this means we will see this "hot-joinable" PvP system in action.  I, personally, have no experience with what this system would entail, and I have no experience with FPS games, which are the inspiration for this kind of system, to be able to extrapolate this terminology properly.

I think part of my problem is I am use to how Random Arenas works in GW1 and this doesn't seem to work the same way.  Can somebody explain how this hot joining system would work, preferably elaborating on how such matches remain semi-balanced?  Feel free to give examples from existing FPS games if that would help your explaination.

Hopefully, any explainations will allow me to tell whats happening in the videos people are bound to make of their PvP experiences.

I used to TL;DR, but then I took a bullet point to the footnote.

Comments

• cali59cali59 Member Posts: 1,634

I have no direct knowledge of how it's going to work in GW2, but I'm definitely leery of it based on my experience with MW2.  If you join a game in progress, you're almost certainly walking into a loss.  The reason there's a spot in the first place is because somebody quit the match.  If there was an option in MW2 to not join a game in progress, I can all but guarantee every single person would select it.

"Gamers will no longer buy the argument that every MMO requires a subscription fee to offset server and bandwidth costs. It's not true – you know it, and they know it." -Jeff Strain, co-founder of ArenaNet, 2007

• mafia514mafia514 Member Posts: 148

Originally posted by grimm6th