Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Star Wars: The Old Republic: Do You Really Want a Beta Invite?

Comments

• MacAllenMacAllen Member UncommonPosts: 71
    Oh, that said, the belief that "playing is testing" is why so many MMO's come out buggy, because the people they let in ARE playing and considering it testing. Typically less than 5% of the people in a beta are actually testing. The rest are making notes for spoiler sites when it goes live, or planning out their leveling curve, or just getting free time in a game. You can see this often by looking at the people who complain on a beta board about the stability of the game, like the beta crashing or being offline is an inconvenience for them.
  • shavashava Member UncommonPosts: 324

I am a dilletante beta tester.  I've been a release engineer professionally and I like bug hunting.  I'm an altaholic.  I like running through the same material with different classes.  So yeah, I'm that kind of geek.  I submit bug reports.  I probably speculate too much in the bug reports about objects inheriting information from yada yada and somewhere there's maybe a function that's causing this count to round in this quest count and all this stuff that may be helpful or may just prove that I'm an ass who used to know how to program and now spends too much time banging on games.  But I like beta testing, and usually am playing one game in production and haunt (sorry) Massively's Beta Watch column on Thursdays to see if there's something interesting I can explore for game mechanics, graphics, concepts, whatever.  Now, SW:TOR is different to me for a number of reasons.  One, I'm a SWG vet, and a KOTOR fan, and was 18 when A New Hope came out which makes me about the same age as Luke at the movie premiere.  It was a big part of my mythology, the whole Star Wars story.  I love Bioware games in general.  And, since I volunteer for The Tor Project, I end up reading a