Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mortal online partners with asian publisher

13»

Comments

• UnseelieCourUnseelieCour Member CommonPosts: 46

Originally posted by Nevulus

All of a sudden everyone is a stock analyst, game developing expert, and software localization guru.

Not much into stock anaylsis, but I can tell that down is bad.

Seriously though, I am a game developer and I know how publishers work i.e. they don't make loss. They're not going to fund the launch of a MMO in a new market when it has failed in another market - it will probably be (initially) on SV's chequebook. The publisher/ studio relationship is like a music label/ rockstar one in that if you get any money out of a publisher it will be clawed back out of future sales/ royalties. You also run up a bill for other things they do which don't end up in extra development cash for you. If you don't get those future sales, you're left in quite a big bit of debt. The publisher will look at a studio and decide whether they're good for that debt if their product goes under or, more controversally, throw money at a studio for a product they know will fail and send the studio under so they can step in to the rescue (and pick up the rights to a certain engine/ IP/ whatever while they're at it). *cough*E*cough*A*cough*. I'm not sure SV appeals to a publisher on either of those fronts and its only product has failed hard.