Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any ideas of where to publish a tale of the original MMORPG?

This is a total drive-by post, I admit it.  But I'm just looking for some info and you guys seem like a group that would know.

I was one of the very first players of UO online, starting with the beta in 1998/9.  I was obsessed with it for a year.  I don't play games any more, though maybe I will one day when my kids are grown and my career doesn't demand so much attention.  I'm looking forward to what the gaming scene in 2030 has to offer.  Assuming I'm still breathing.

But I was there at the very beginning, and I wrote it all down.  I've got a story about it and people seem to like it, but I'm not a professional writer and I don't know where to send it.  It's long - 15,000 words, 26 single spaced pages - which will also make it hard to place.  And it's not fan fiction either, so it doesn't fit into an easy category.

What might make it easier is that I'm not looking for money.  I'd want to retain rights, but I'd be happy to see it out there for free on the web, just so other people could (would?) read it.  It's actually a pretty cool tale.

So - you guys are the experts on this.  Where do I go to submit this? 

And I pasted the beginning here, so you can decide if you even like the style...

------------------------------------------------------

My story takes place where fantasy and reality overlap. It’s about a turning point in human existence that has passed unremarked so far, a moment when something fundamental changed for the species, a course change for the ship of history steaming placid as a cow through green fields of time. The helmsman spins the wheel and the rudder swings over though the ship keeps straight for a while before she begins to turn.

But the rudder has turned.