Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Time for a F2P Vanilla Pre-NGE server?

TarkaTarka Member Posts: 1,662

Now before anyone jumps all over this to claim that I am an SWG veteran pineing for the old days, you'd be very wrong indeed.

Before you reply, read this OP, consider the facts and think for a moment....

• It seems that F2P seems to be more and more justifiable as a payment model. 

• Designing a typical MMO takes a lot of time and resources. 

• Given the economic climate, it's becoming increasingly harder for MMO companies to take risks with MMO design.  So dev companies need to be sure that their design will be popular.  But they can't be sure until they design and build it.  Thus these companies are trapped in a never ending circle.  And the only solution is to "play it safe" and use tried and tested designs.  Which is understandable.

• Whilst some may view sandbox MMO's as the pinnacle of "freedom" in terms of MMO design, others find that they lack some elements which are found in themepark MMO's.

• Themepark MMO's are very popular, but some would claim that they seem a little *too* "samey" and restrictive in gameplay.

• A percentage of players on these forums did enjoy SWGs "sandbox" design.  Many agree that SWG did indeed have some good elements in it (even some of those who play themepark MMOs).  However SWG pre-NGE didn't appeal to everyone.  That's fair enough.  I found it lacking too. 

• There is much talk on these forums about moving away from the "themepark" design but the problem remains that sandbox designs may be viewed as popular enough to justify the expenditure and resources to create a new MMO from scratch.