Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honest Review - 1.5 Years of Experience

Galatea11Galatea11 Member Posts: 8

Yeah, call me a loser for playing this game for 1.5 years, more off than on though. Since I'm a student, I'm not a hardcore player. I've never tried any of the pay to play games, but based off other F2P games, Shaiya is one of the best F2P MMOs. That being said, it sadly does not make up for other flaws, of why I eventually quit.

Shaiya is the most STRUCTURED F2P game. It's hard to explain; there are a certain number of monsters especially suited for the needs of the targeted players, the maps are very organized, the spawn times are calculated, etc. It's rather hard to explain, but there's a sense of professional organization and thought involved in its creation.

Concept 8/10

You can choose to play Union of Fury or Alliance of Light. They have completely different maps, different races (but not classes), gear, etc. I personally prefer the lightie maps but fury dungeons. They are always at war with each other in the battlegrounds, and by winning altars you win bless for your entire side. There is no coherent storyline, no ultimate goal, but neither is it confusing nor tremendously addictive.

The trademark of Shaiya are its four levels: easy, normal, hard, and ultimate. Easy is to figure out what class you want to play, capped at 30. Hard is unlocked when you hit level 40 on normal (previously 50) and ultimate level 40 hard. In hard and ultimate mode, you get a boost of skill and stat points. However, they take 3-6x longer to level. And, in ultimate mode, if you die, you lose your character forever. This requires you to use resurrection runes, which are extremely costly. (Recently they have a rez item in the item mall, but it costs about $75). 

Graphics 9/10