Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Free Trials; The good, the bad, and the Ugly

joojoo1975joojoo1975 Member UncommonPosts: 275

Greetings

I've been playing MMO's for roughly 9 years.  At first, I would always buy the game when it was on the store shelves.  but after a few lemons, I began to exercise better caution.  Now Only way I'll buy a game subscription is if it has a Free Trial.

My oppinions on how the Game companies feel bout free trials.

Is it just me or do you feel that the players who use these services are treated like thier "second rate"?  I mean here I am patiently awaiting for Conan to be finished with the updates and I have roughly 6 hours to go.  Not to mention that I have cable.  and my UL/DL speeds are rather descent. 

Before AoC, I went over to take a look at LOTR and low and behold thier free trial service has been faulty for a While now.  I mean come on!  If your gonna offer a free trial, then at the very least check on it once a day, or here's a thought.  Listen to your Forum Posters. 

Before all this, I downloaded SWG(mind you this is not when the game was at it's hight) and after talking with the support staff and numerous mirror sites later, roughly 3 days later, the game was up and running.  prolly 3 months after that, I had no problems Downloading EQ2 or Vanguard, it just took roughly 12 hours a game.

To me, Gameing Companies should give a lil more love and Bandwith to the free trial area/market.  Though I didn't stay with any of these games, roughly each game got between 2-6 months of gaming from me and at an average of 14.00 that's 28.00 to 84.00 dollars that they wouldn't have unless they did have a Free trial

Anyhoo, Rant off and Happy Gaming 

To Protect The Helpless From The Heartless

Comments

• LynxJSALynxJSA Member RarePosts: 3,332