Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Define 'Sandbox'...

Comments

• beaverzbeaverz Member Posts: 660

o so you played darkfall already? nice

Anyway sandbox is a game with no defined environment, and everytime a company makes one people whine that life ingame is unfair and alll the hardcore players control everything.

I'm not a no life that sits in front of his computer all day long, I'm an intern that sits in front of his computer all day long.

• TrissaTrissa Member Posts: 251

I have to agree with the article.

All games i have played (no one of the "official" sandboxes around) have some of the sandbox elements you all are talking here, of course in different degrees in each one.

I see here different ideas about what a sandbox is, thats fun because really this go with the article idea, each one put the stress in their preferences, but as far as i see there is not a unique model.

Freedom seems to be the word more used, but i don't think it is just coming from the game itself.

As some one said before, there is a lot of people confusing content in the sense off quantity of options with real freedom and in the other side i can't imagine any MMORPG without some "no sandbox theoretic elements" like grinding, leveling (general level, class level, skill level, doesn't matter), ... Think off it and you will see its true.

Your imagination, your ability to use the game just as a tool, have a lot to do with freedom. I know the major part of you are going to disagree absolutely with me but i don't care. What i felt it's what i felt, i cannot negate it doesn't matter other opinions. The game where i felt more free, where i felt players were really affecting the game play day after day is Lineage II and it was by far.