Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Age of Conan: Dev Profile: Heidi Schmidt

Heidi Schmidt, a Content Designer for Funcom's Age of Conan, talks about her unqiue path to her first job in the industry: keeping the lore.

image MMORPG.com: What is your job at Funcom? How did you get your foot in the door?

Heidi Schmidt: I am a content designer, specifically a quest designer, and the Lore Wench, for the Age of Conan MMO. I spent a lot of time on the TestLive test server for Anarchy Online, helping the developers by testing new content. I also delved into creating a huge in-game map for the community, which I really enjoyed working on (it was the perfect excuse to explore every meter of Rubi-Ka). When Funcom was looking to hire new people, I knew I had to apply. I had been so impressed with the artistic and creative talent behind Anarchy Online, and I wanted to be part of that amazing team. I applied as a designer, was interviewed, and hired, all in the matter of a few weeks. I moved to Norway from the U.S. just a few weeks after that!

The full Q&A is here.

Dana Massey
Formerly of MMORPG.com
Currently Lead Designer for Bit Trap Studios

Comments

• ZapaniZapani Member CommonPosts: 23

• ArconaArcona Member UncommonPosts: 1,182

Originally posted by Zapani

Age Of Conan will get lots of subscribers since its released a year before Warhammer image
    (Conan april 2007, Warhammer april 2008 image)

• GreenneutronGreenneutron Member Posts: 45
    image  Good stuff. 

• DarkjinxterDarkjinxter Member Posts: 174
    I do hope this woman has actually read (and understands) RE Howard's works. Doesn't sound like it to me.
  • ericolmericolm Member Posts: 2