Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Whats there to play for me!??

13»

Comments

• nate1980nate1980 Member UncommonPosts: 2,063
    I've seen this post in various forms over the last 15 years on these forums. Nothing is going to make you happy until you learn to compromise. Just like there's bad and good things we like with our family, friends, work, and other hobbies; we have to accept the good and the bad with our choice games. 

You also need to think more positively. While describing these games, you are going into them expecting to be let down. It's a self-fulfilling prophecy. If you're looking for something to dislike about the game, you're guaranteed to find it. I find it's better to take a break away from games at this point and come back if and when you remember why you first became a gamer.

For example, my first MMO was DAoC and after 3 years, I started playing SWG. Then WoW blew up and I gave that a try. I absolutely hated WoW because it had none of the good things that I enjoyed in my previous MMO's. It wasn't until several years later, did I finally give games like that a real chance. After I did, I found I was able to enjoy myself. The same way as in DAoC and SWG where I grouped constantly, RvR'd, player traded face to face, and RP'd? Nope, but I enjoyed WoW and games styled after it for what it offered, which is a quest/story-based MMORPG whose focus is on solo gameplay, with minimal choice in development, but class development and advancement through a level-based system. These games offer short entertaining packages of fun in the form of group instanced dungeons and later more challenging and entertaining packages of fun in the form of raiding.