Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Imagine this...

ZindaihasZindaihas Member UncommonPosts: 3,662

Hi all,

I am an old MMORPG gamer whose experience goes back to the early days of Everquest.  The first time I played EQ, I fell in love with the MMO genre because of the way it makes you feel like you've been transported into that world.  It was about a year after I started playing EQ that I came up with an idea for an MMO of my own.  I am a history enthusiast with a history degree and I have a special interest in ancient history.

And that's the idea that struck me while playing EQ.  Wouldn't it be cool if I could merge the MMO genre with ancient history?  Wouldn't it give you that sensation of traveling back in time and living in that world?  And I wrote up a small book of ideas that I would incorporate into such a game.  But without the money or the programming experience needed, there was never much of a chance of ever getting it past the idea stage.

However, with new tools available today, such as crowd funding websites and game engines made for even novice programmers, I have decided to revisit this idea.  In an attempt to demonstrate how serious I am, I made up a model of the ancient Acropolis using the Unity game engine and recorded it as a video.  Here it is:

http://historiarex.com/the-acropolis

I actually posted my idea on this website about seven years ago, and I got a very positive response.  I truly believe there's a real hunger for a game like this.  But without something concrete to show anyone, I knew that there would be no chance of ever getting it past the idea stage.  I'm hoping this video might be able push it past that.