Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

John Smedely - The Sandbox MMO

Comments

• WereLlamaWereLlama Member UncommonPosts: 246

I like both dev made content and sandbox features.

Also, I like the idea of temporarily damaging dev made structures.

Ex.

1. My iksar travels to Kelethin and is subsequently attacked by Wood Elf guards.

2. Iksar flees, then comes back with a train of 20 Orc Centurians, feigns near one of the lifts.  The 20 orcs quickly overrun the guards and burn the lift.  Players are forced to use the other lift for 10 or so minutes, while Wood Elf engineers repair the damage.

-WL

• MindTriggerMindTrigger Member Posts: 2,596

I've been saying everything he said in this article for the past 6+ years as an MMO player.  We "bittervets", as some like to call us, were around to play those games that were more virtual world than themepark, and so themeparks largely never lived up to what we always thought the future of MMOs would hold.

The part about themeparks being unsustainable is key, and it's the main reason why people are MMO hopping these days.  I'll go a step further and simply say that today's MMO's are not hard enough.  Again, Star Wars Galaxies had a neat idea with different *ENTIRE* planets, with varying degrees of difficulty.  When the game was new, I remember not even going anywhere near Dathomir for like six months, because even as a high level player, it was almost insta-death unless you went in with a full group.

I can understand casual players wanting easy-mode content, and there's no reason why we can't have both easy and super hard content in these games, both being fun / rewarding, and let the players choose which they want to play.

The only game that looks interesting to me right now is The Repopulation.  TESO, Wildstar, probably EQN will be more of the same themepark, dressed up a little.   No thanks.