Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Question Race and "Coding" it in?

flguy147flguy147 Member UncommonPosts: 507
I have zero knowledge on programming a video game.  So i am curious, how hard is it to "code" in the any race any faction that is in the CE?  Would it have to be done way in advance, lets say 4 months ago or could it be done in just a couple weeks?  Thanks

Comments

• NildenNilden Member EpicPosts: 3,916

Probably a couple hours depending on how you have races set up. For instance if you have elf, dwarf, and basic humanoid races your going to have a template and doing the actual code to put in an orc would be pretty easy since you could just use the elf template and change things to orc. Of course this doesn't take into account models, animation, racial items or lore, starting areas etc just the actual code to put in the race. If all you did was take humans and make them green using assets that the game already had in place it could be done in a couple hours.

Now if you didn't have races and all you had was default humans it would be a much bigger undertaking since you would have to code in every time you wanted to look at what race something was.

CircleMUD adding a race

Using mud code in c++ as an easy example you can see what would need to be done.

"You CAN'T buy ships for RL money." - MaxBacon

"classification of games into MMOs is not by rational reasoning" - nariusseldon

Love Minecraft. And check out my Youtube channel OhCanadaGamer

Try a MUD today at http://www.mudconnect.com/ 

• AnirethAnireth Member UncommonPosts: 940

Simply allowing to select it, or the appropriate NPC offering the quest etc. should be a matter of minutes at most. It should be a simply check for which race the player has and then enable/disable the button or hide the dialog option.

The question is whether there has to be done something custom to each race/faction combination.