Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Review of FF14 from a new player, with my experiences

olepiolepi Member EpicPosts: 2,828

I've only reached 16 on my highest class so far, so this review is just about the new player experience. My first MMO was DAOC, and I've played a few other MMO's since then. My playstyle is relaxed, maybe 10 hours a week. I like to vary my activities, instead of trying to max out my level in one thing. Focus on:

• a "virtual world" where I can live
  • alive world with multiple things to do at any one time
  • exploration
  • combat
  • story/quests
  • gathering/crafting/mini-games
  • community
  • PvP and Raiding

I started playing in late beta, early access, and now in regular time. When FF14 released, I created a new character, a THM. I decided early on not to just collect and do all the quests, so at first  just did the main quest. A few side quests, and some farming, along with some Fates, and he was level 10.

Then I decided to run to the other city to change to a CNJ. The world is fairly small, and being an ex-Ryzom player, I had no trouble at all just running from Ul'dah to Grid. So then level'd the CNJ to 16, and decided he would be my main class. I really like the multi-classing aspect of FF14. I also picked up most of the crafting and gathering classes.

Summary -- 8.0

Based on my criterion, FF14 rates high. It is going to take me quite a while to max out several classes, along with several more gathering/crafting classes.  The world is a bit small, but is full of interesting things to do, and although exploration is limited, there is some. I like the combat, and the story/quests are keeping me interested.

Virtual World/Alive World -- 8.0