Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

AAA title developers, let me give you some advice.

Spector88Spector88 Ashtabula, OHMember Posts: 111 Uncommon

I consider myself an MMORPG purist. If there is such a thing.

I've written blogs in the past yadda yadda, basically I started playing MMO's in the mid 90s before I was old enough to have a license. I crushed through english, writing, vocabulary etc, because I was interacting online daily with adults who had no idea who I was other than who I portrayed myself to be. I played in unique, different games, with creative ideas, immersive communities, and fun content.

I understand years go into development of a AAA title, I just don't understand how entire companies can't figure the hell out, what is pretty easily seen.

tldr; AAA titles are being made for a quick buck, and by people trying to be cute, instead of trying to listen to what people want, fill avoid, and make difficult decisions to make a successful long standing game, where people spend their money because they're happy, not because they feel forced to.

First, quit being cute.

Similar to GM's for sports teams, quit trying to pull something out of right field (drafted some nobody with your first pick) and then try to look smart. It's pretty plain to see what the majority of players like and wish for in a game, then make it happen. The most successful companies make it happen, they dont make excuses. What are some of the biggest things players want? They want things like PLAYER HOUSING, yet, only a few games ever have it. They want things like immersive wide open worlds, yet we get this streamlined follow A to B to C to D, kill a few rats, go to C then to B, A. What is this crap? Do you really think anyone is going to feel immersed in a cage and invisible walls?

There is so many innovative ideas out there from games you could use or re-invent. Have any of these idiots played MMORPG's?