Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Fuzzy Avatars Solved! Please re-upload your avatar if it was fuzzy!

Setting up 7.1 sound through Turtle Beach X41.

SouldrainerSouldrainer Elmer, NJPosts: 1,857Member

So, I have been using my X41 headset for about 6 months now.  In my current config, it's Xbox/PS3/PC > HDMI Cables (Edit: to TV) > Digital Cable(Edit:  From TV) > Headphones.

With the PS3 and the Xbox 360, I get 7.1 surround in this set.  Yet, with the PC, it is stereo.  I have tried updating my Nvidia drivers, updating my utilities, and replacing the .ini file for the monitor with a more specific one that is tailored to my monitor.

What I am thinking is that I need to get a sound setup where it's PC > Digitial Out > Headphones and PC> HDMI > TV separately.  Since I rarely use my consoles anymore, I am OK with this.  The problem is, I am not sure how to best go about it.

At the end of the month, I will be rebuilding my system in a big way, and going with an Asus mobo for their UEFI BIOS (eyeballing Sabertooth hard), and sticking with Nvidia because I intend to use 3D vision when all is said and done, Edit:  and Intel because of AMD's power inefficiency for this generation.

So, here are the questions:

#1 Shoud I simply get a 7.1 motherboard with a digital output? 

#2 If I get a soundcard with a digital output that does 7.1, which is the best non-defective cheap one?  (sound quality important but not to audiophile levels)

#3 Why did they kill JFK?

#4 What are your other recommendations?

Error: 37. Signature not found. Please connect to my server for signature access.

Comments

• RidelynnRidelynn Fresno, CAPosts: 4,179Member Uncommon

What is the "digital cable" from TV? The Toslink optical cable?

What I would do is try plugging your headset directly into the computer. See if you get surround sound there.