Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

When did it become OK to charge $30 - $50 for a month of premium in F2P?

1234568»

Comments

• nariusseldonnariusseldon Member EpicPosts: 27,775
    Originally posted by Phelcher

Why even play any mmo if its not to be part of that game world and meet others. Otherwise, it just a game. Like rts.. or batman, or mario bro..

AH? Show off gear? Group to play in an instanced?

Can't do any of that playing batman, or mario, or Starcraft (except the instance part .. but no instanced dungeon runs).

Lots of reason to play MMOs .. and not to be part of the game world and meet others.

In fact, i have lots of example of experiences that i cannot get any other way but in a MMO.

For example, there is no modern Star Trek base RPG. If i want to play star trek mission, STO is it ... even if i play it like a single player game.

Originally posted by Meridion

It's the age old basement nerd argument. Don't be silly it's just games if you need games to make friends you probably failed in life anyways...

I won't discuss this because you don't usually get any worthwhile results out of these rants.

Let's not get into that. I did NOT make the argumetn. I merely say i do not play games to make friends. If you do, continue to do so. That is just another preference to me .. i won't judge you.

But:

The idea of "I get RL friends on to play together" is exactly what "other games" were for back when MMORPGs were MMORPGs. Like Diablo, Diablo 2, Duke Nukem 3D, C&C, Counterstrike 0.6... you name it. I got my friends together, we brought our PCs or met in a lobby and rolled away. There were no strangers in these matches/games and you just had a ton of fun...

Yes. And i play D3, Borderland and other MP games.

That's perfectly okay.