Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How many computer servers, database servers, etc in MMORPG world

mikecacklemikecackle City, ILMember Posts: 151

Such as like a WoW world or similar.. how many actual physical servers makes up a world? specs not a concern, but was curious of the finincial issues that I have no experience in seeing...

Is there literally several database servers, game servers, instance servers all in a cluster for a singler world that supports like i guess 3000 (Can comment on how many supports if have any feedback as well) or so players?

• anemoanemo Member Posts: 1,035 Uncommon

Below is really scary guesstimations.
    If you don't know how much it costs you can't afford it. 

Even though clock cycles and bandwidth is dirt cheap to run, the manpower is expensive and the killer of the project. .  Web content is pretty cheap compared to MMO content though since in web you're only worrying about delivering static text

For instance I know that in 1.6Ghz my personal crap can test 60K collision points, in a field of 100 2D polygons(with further optimizations I could choose to do, currently aiming for less in a single player game so I can do "more stuff").  Which is reasonable since it does this in around 15MS, which is the step I choose for ticks.  

Now I'll just be lazy and say we'll cull that down and say We'll go with an Amazon Medium instance , and go with 200 players on that server(at all times of day).