Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

MMORPGing on a phone and it's not bad

KenFisherKenFisher Member UncommonPosts: 5,035

For a project I'm working on, I needed Internet where there was none and ended up with an 4G (android) on AT&T so I could tether my laptop.  I'm way behind on smart phones so this was a cool opportunity to bring me up from the dark ages.

As a coder I'm fascinated with the potential of the phone and found my way into Pocket Legends.  I have to say I'm suprised with the game.

My impressions from a couple days playing...

On the tech side, it's about on par with Quake 1.  Environments and characters are ultra low poly, texures are low-res, but the animation and overall presentation is professional.  Art style is cartoonish with a grade school look and feel.  Visual effects are impressive given the environment it runs in.

Client, I'm guessing, is full Java.  It runs on my droid and laptop using Chrome but no other browser.  Rendering looks to be done in software.

Servers are the same for both clients so it's phone and computer users in the same world.  It appears to be one world for all players with no server realms, at least none that I've encountered.

The world is zone based.  Zones are quite small, I'd guess about 1/16th the size of normal (only a few hundred meters in either direction).  I'm not sure if zones have sharding.  I didn't see any indication of it.  (the world is sharded, dungeons are public instanced with a 5 character cap)

Gameplay is near fully automatic.  Run up to a mob, hit attack, and button mash skills as they cool down.  Looting is full auto also, with drops going directly into a characters inventory.