Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Guild Wars 2: The Closed Beta Preview

Comments

• iceman00iceman00 Member Posts: 1,363

Originally posted by Lordjay

I used to be really excited about this game a couple years back,but the more i see the more i realize it IS just run of the mill fantasy MMO with a few innovations.Trust me Ive been gaming for 30 years now-D&D since 1982,my first video game was Pong In the late 70s.Ive played 20 MMOs so far since 2003 and about half were P2P subs.(And by play I mean a solid 2 weeks or more Bare minimum,however almost half were years of playing time.) 

The worst thing to do was show actual gameplay footage to me for the last year or so.While it does have some interesting combat innovations,it just looks bland in the end.

So when I see people getting fanatical over this game I kind of chuckle to myself becuase i realize people will be so over-hyped theyre going to be let down when they realize it still is JUST a typical fantasy game at the core level.However when I see people that stay interested I realize theyre either a hardcore fanboy/girl or not very experianced in the MMO scene(Or both).

Anyway with that being said,GW2 may be my secondary MMO when i have xtra $ to get it,But my money is on The Secret World for a totaly new MMO experiance.Coming from my mouth that should mean something,Im not a Fanboy trying to advertise an MMO I like,Im a highly experianced Gamer with a little over 30 years of gaming under my belt and a few years of research on MMOs being developed since 2007,and which one will provide a unique experiance for players...And its The secret World.

Let's see if we can drill down a bit.

When you say it looks "bland", what do you really mean by that.  is it a graphics issue?  World look dead?  Not very inspiring (in examples), etc.

• THEchad88THEchad88 Member Posts: 38

Originally posted by BillMurphy

Originally posted by ProfRed