Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why do you play MMORPGS?

Comments

• Yoottos'HorgYoottos'Horg Member UncommonPosts: 297

I was addicted to Diablo II in High School. I played it for a while but eventually grew out of it and dabbled in a few stand alone games for a little while but nothing really got my attention. My brother enlisted in the Marines and was exposed to MMOs during his first tour--namely AO. He mentioned this game to me and I saw it as a great opportunity to not only communicate with him but to also fill that void which had existed since my Diablo II days. We played it for a few months but he eventually grew out of it and I soon followed.

I knew about EQ, DAoC and UO before I started playing AO but I never really got into them because I didn't see the draw. But once I got a taste with AO I was hooked. So I went out and looked for an MMO community and stumbled upon MMORPG.com. It was and remains a great find. The sheer number of MMOs was staggering at the time and I wanted to play a little bit of everything. I couldn't decide which one to choose until, one day, I was scrolling the games list on this site and saw Star Wars: Galaxies! Oh my! My Geek sense was going off like a fire alarm and my mind was racing with possibilites! I instantly went to the home page and read up on the game. It was simply amazing! The only problem I had was I didn't know anyone who would be playing the game. This is when I took a little time away from the speculations on the forums and started looking for a guild. I stumbled upon the Independent Trade and Exploration Coalition (ITEC). They were a group of mature players and I just loved the "feel" of them. I submitted an application and was accepted into the ranks. This is when I truly understood what it ment to be in a community of gamers who shared of passion for the very same things I did. See, I was a closet geek in High School. I played football and