Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Fuzzy Avatars Solved! Please re-upload your avatar if it was fuzzy!

Having problems loading Guild Wars

Shaggy67Shaggy67 Sylva, NCPosts: 76Member

I'm new to Guild Wars and am having problems getting the game to run.When I try to run it it has this error message:

Unable to Open Archive file

Guild Wars is unable to access its archive file C:Program FilesGuild WarsGw.dat.Please verify that this file ia accessable and writeable,and that no other programs are currently using it.

I have tried to contact Guild Wars support but haven't had any luck because NC soft can't seem to find my account so that I can submit my question to their technical support. They were helpful when I can get through to them.But hopefully someone here can help me out since I can't get through to them.

Comments

• OdenathusOdenathus Fresno, CAPosts: 661Member

Originally posted by Shaggy67
    Unable to Open Archive file

Guild Wars is unable to access its archive file C:Program FilesGuild WarsGw.dat.

Whelp?! Have you tried reinstalling?
    The game only has 3 files (Gw.dat, Gw.exe, Gw.tmp), have you verified that they are present, and present in the path that the error message mentioned? Did you install them into a different directory?

just a random attempt...

----------------------------------------
    My dog barks some. Mentally you picture my dog, but I have not told you the type of dog which I have. Perhaps you even picture Toto, from "The Wizard of Oz." But I warn you, my dog is always with me.

• Shaggy67Shaggy67 Sylva, NCPosts: 76Member

Thanks for replyng Odenathus,

Thanks for the advice ,I had a feeling that I would have to reinstall it but just wanted to another opinion before I took that step.Just in case the solution was something else.